Running

bath

As ever I begin with the toe-dip
and as ever, it’s far too hot.

The cold tap gushes,
torrential
and sputtering it creates an imbalance.
I sense it.
The shampoo leaps
to my hand, a weapon.
I swirl
and stir,
blending scorch with chill
to strike that crucial balance.

In haste I grow forgetful:
I spot the billowing
unruly
foaming monster at the base
of cold-tap falls. I sheathe the
bottle and
– breathing deeply –
use my bare hands to carve
to sculpt
and scoop the bubbles into
a blanket, like snowy mountains
atop a toasty, quieting sea.

I begin to strip,
savouring the subtle breath of
humid steam on
exposed skin.
I squint at the light:
harsh,
glaring,
disruptive. I spark a match
let it kiss the wick
once,
twice,
a fifth time. A soft, flickering glow.
Better.

I dip my toe.

I lie back, ripples cascading back
then forth,
lapping softly upon the shore
of my chest
and the base of my neck
drifts softly into a cosy nook
of warm acrylic,
of lavender vapour,
of wholesome quiet.

The first sigh escapes.

Some things are given.
But the perfect bath?
That is earned.

Let Me Know What You Think

